STANDING COMMITTEES

COPE - Committee on Political Education

Natasha Dockter natasha.dockter@gmail.com

Legislative Committee - Alex Hoselton ahteacher@gmail.com 

Communications Committee - dhogan@mft59.org

Teachers of Color - Angela Osuji and Caroline Long

angelaosuji@gmail.com and long0156@tc.umn.edu

Organizing Committee - Nat Anderson-Lippert nat@mft59.org

Constitution and Bylaws - Rob Panning-Miller rpm1717@yahoo.com 

Grievance Committee - Katy Tharaldson katytharaldson@hotmail.com

Professional Issues - Lindsey West brya0174@gmail.com 

Staff Development - Marcia Wyatt mwyattprs@yahoo.com

Elections Committee - Michelle Urevig-Grilz migrilz101@gmail.com

Community Engagement - Shaun Laden sladen@mft59.org, Greta Callahan gcallahan@mft59.org

SUMMER 2020 TASK FORCES

 

Fighting Racism Within Our Union Summer Program - LEARN MORE HERE

Catina Neal cneal@mft59.org 

Ma-Riah Roberson Moody mrobersonmoody@mft59.org 

As an organization we realize that we can’t fight racism and white supremacy without first identifying how we perpetuate it within our Union. trust has been broken with POC members and we must be held accountable. MFT is committed to addressing the culture of whiteness in our Union and intentionally creating space for our POC members. Over the summer, we have a group of ESP and teachers doing racial equity work and one of the first things they will be doing is hosting a series of healing circles through July for our members of color. The purposes of this is to provide a safe and comfortable space for members of color to share what their experiences have been within our Union, with people that have had a similar experience. Moreore details on the racial equity work and healing circles will arrive in your email. 

Emergency Childcare & Minneapolis Kids - Lauren Smith-Kerwel lauren.smith-kiewel@mpls.k12.mn.us
This committee meets weekly from 7pm-8pm on Tuesdays to address issues and concerns with childcare settings and share best practices and ideas for improved programming.

 

Environmental Health and Safety - Aria Campbell Aria.Campbell@mpls.k12.mn.us 

and Angie McCracken smile4ang@aol.com 

This committee will work to address health and safety concerns and make recommendations to the District about back to school planning. 

 

Building a Better Future Task Force (formerly Covid Task Force) - Dan Troccoli

dantroccoli@gmail.com 

This committee will continue its work addressing large systemic issues posed by the pandemic both as they relate to public schools, public institutions, expanding social safety nets, and opportunities for positive changes to improve public education for all.

 

CDD Task Force- Nafeesah Muhammad nafeesahmmuhammad@gmail.com and Kristen Melby kemelby@gmail.com 

This task force meets weekly on Mondays from 4:00-5:30pm and is tackling issues regarding the implementation of the CDD and how it will affect our staff and students.

 

SRO Task Force - Katrinka Zackery kazackery@gmail.com 

This committee will work to address concerns and make recommendations to the District in the coming year about public safety in our schools beyond police and how to build internal MPS systems to meet the safety needs of our school communities without the use of SRO.

ABOUT US

Follow MFT

The Minneapolis Federation of Teachers is a union of professionals that champions fairness; democracy; economic opportunity; and high-quality public education, healthcare, and public services for our students, their families and our communities. We are committed to advancing these principles through community engagement, organizing, collective bargaining and political activism, and especially through the work our members do.

Contact US

67 8th Ave NE

Minneapolis, MN

55413

612-529-9621

2015-EM-Logo.jpg

© 2020 Minneapolis Federation of teachers